Gluten-free food production

Gluten free logo example

Logo gluten free

Some products carry a gluten-free symbol. There are many different symbols in circulation, but the crossed-grain is the best known. This logo is licensed by the Celiac Association. After successfully completing an audit against the AOECS Standard for Gluten-Free Products, The AOECS Gluten-Free Addendum or BRGCS Gluten-Free Certification Program (GFCP), this logo may be used. 

We are happy to help with the screening of the production process (baseline measurement) or support with the certification process. We can also examine products, using the prescribed analysis method, to demonstrate that the standard is being met.

Naturally, products without this logo or other logos/icons may also be sold as 'gluten-free' as long as they comply with European legislation (max. 20 ppm gluten). 

Legislation

Effective July 20, 2016 IMPLEMENTING REGULATION (EU) No. 828/2014 for the claims 'gluten-free', 'with a very low gluten content', 'specially prepared/suitable for people with a gluten intolerance' and 'specially prepared/suitable for celiac patients'. 
The limit of a maximum of 20 ppm gluten is used for the claim 'gluten-free'. Products prepared with gluten-containing cereals, especially intended for people with celiac disease, may also use the term 'with a very low gluten content'. Then the gluten content may be max. 100 mg/kg.
The claims 'gluten-free' and 'with a very low gluten content' may also be used on naturally gluten-free products. The above claims may not be stated on infant formulas and follow-on infant formulas. No gluten-containing ingredients may be used in such foods and claims are not allowed. 

In addition to these claims regulations, products must also comply with the general European labeling legislation. This includes rules on the list of ingredients, among other things. When using ingredients made from a cereal containing gluten, the allergenic origin must be clearly stated in the ingredient name. For example wheatstarch. In addition, the type of grain must be displayed in a different font, such as bold, italic or capital letters. A 0 limit applies to this entry. The standard for gluten-free products (20 ppm) may not be used to determine whether ingredients of gluten-containing cereal must be stated in the ingredients declaration. These ingredients must always be included, even if they contain less than 20 ppm of gluten. Except if they are on below list of exceptions such as glucose syrup or maltodextrin.
The type of cereal must be mentioned in the list of ingredients. The word gluten does not have to be used. 

In the United States for, gluten-free fermented or hydrolyzed products, such as beer and soy sauce, other legislation applies than in Europe. All ingredients used must be gluten-free. A product may therefore not be made gluten-free by breaking down gluten through fermentation or hydrolysis. Cross-contact with gluten must also be prevented during and after the fermentation process.

Analysis

Various methods are available for testing gluten.
Rapid tests or ELISA tests can be used. Special ELISA tests must be used for fermented products such as beer or soy sauce (with wheat). We offer an excellent laboratory service with fast, accredited analyses and advice on application and interpretation.

More information
laboratory analysis

Allergenen Consultancy also delivers rapid tests for testing for gluten in raw materials, surfaces and end products. With this complete, reliable and affordable test kit, an analysis can be carried out quickly and easily. This does not require a laboratory or trained personnel. With a rapid test, the result is immediately available and production can be resumed and released quickly.

What are Gluten?

Gluten is the alcohol-soluble protein fraction found in various cereals. These are wheat, rye, barley, spelt and khorasan wheat (kamut). Oats are basically gluten-free, but are often contaminated with wheat, which means that oats often contain gluten. Gluten gives structure to dough products and bread. Gluten is 'cross-linked' into a network in which gases – which are created during the rising of dough – are retained. Without gluten it is difficult to make a cohesive, non-crumbly and airy baking.
Gluten consists of two protein types: glutenins and gliadins. Gliadin causes intestinal damage in celiac disease.

celiac disease

There is a distinction between wheat allergy and celiac disease. In a wheat allergy, the immune system reacts to one or more wheat proteins, but there is no reaction to the other gluten-containing grains.

Celiac disease (pronounced seuliak) is not an allergy but an autoimmune disease. This means that antibodies are produced against the body's own tissues, which are damaged as a result. Eating or drinking products containing gluten, such as bread, cake or pasta, causes a breakdown of the small intestine in people with celiac disease. As a result, the intestine cannot do its job properly. For example, nutritional deficiencies and all kinds of (often chronic) complaints arise. By following a gluten-free diet, the small intestinal mucosa can recover. In the Western world, approximately 1 in 200 people have celiac disease. Wheat allergy is less common. 

Want to know more or need help with certification?

Please touch with contact us and we will be happy to help you with the certification process.

Read
More